The Dragonlance Nexus

Printed From:


Pathfinder Rules

by Kendermage

Madroxi (CR 2)
Madroxi Expert 3
CN Medium Humanoid (Madroxi)


AC 10, touch 10, flat-footed 10 (+0 Dex, +0 natural)
hp 20 (3d8)
Fort +3, Ref +2, Will +2


Init +1; Senses Perception -1
Speed 30 ft.


Str 10, Dex 12, Con 11, Int 13, Wis 8, Cha 9
Base Atk +2; CMB +2; CMD 13
Feats Great Fortitude, Self-Sufficient
Skills Craft 3 (+4), Handle Animal 3 (+2), Heal 2 (+3), Knowledge (nature) 3 (+4), Profession 3 (+2), Ride 1 (+2), Survival 3 (+4), Swim 3 (+3)
SQ Duplication, Dupe Healing, Cooperative Assistance


Environment any
Organization solitary, mated pair
Treasure 780 stl (gear), 350 stl (weapons), 200 stl (protection), 80 stl (limited use magic), 200 stl (gear)


Duplication (Su) As a standard action, a Madroxi can copy itself into two completely identical creatures, complete with whatever non-magical gear the original possesses. Both the original Madroxi - known as the Madroxi Prime - as well as the new one — known as a dupe — can further divide themselves in later rounds. Given enough time, a Madroxi can rapidly multiply, creating a crew. A dupe crew can never grow larger than the Madroxi Prime's Constitution score. If a Madroxi (or a dupe) has a move action remaining when it dupes, both the original and resulting dupes can each expend that move action in that same round. All dupes created use the same initiative roll as the original Madroxi, though are able to act independently of the dictates of the Madroxi Prime. All newly created dupes have hp identical to the current hp total of the Madroxi Prime or creating dupe at the time it is made. A Madroxi can maintain its dupes for up to 1 hour; after that, all dupes are reabsorbed into the Madroxi Prime (or the longest living dupe if the original has been slain). Any dupes that are slain cannot be called again for 24 hours. Barring extraordinary circumstances a dupe cannot refuse to be reabsorbed. The Madroxi Prime is telepathically linked to his dupes and can track them no matter where they are hiding. Once this reabsorption has occurred, the Madroxi cannot reuse its dupe ability for 1 hour.
Dupe Healing (Su) As a standard action the Madroxi Prime can reabsorb any dupe back into itself. This healing is a two-edges sword. On one hand the Madroxi Prime gains half the dupes remaining hitpoints, on the other hand it also takes on the worst wound suffered by the dupe. For instance, if a Madroxi Prime reabsorbs a dupe which had been injured from a sword slash across the gut, the Madroxi Prime gets half the dupes hit points back and now takes on the wound of the dupe.
Cooperative Assistance (Ex) Madroxi are experts at working together. Whenever the Madroxi Prime or one of its dupes flanks a target, or uses the Aid Another action it gains a +4 bonus instead of the usual +2.

Madroxi have no fear of death THey also speak in 3rd Person using "we" and "us" in place of "I" and "me".


No one is quite sure from where the Madroxi came. What is nearly certain, is that they did not exist prior to the Chaos War. The most popular theory among scholars is that they are irda which survived the opening of the Graygem, but were altered by the awesome powers of Chaos. If this is true, then these once-irda; appear to have lost their shapeshifting powers in exchange for the powers of duplication. Owing to the irda's isolationist tendencies it should come as no surprise that Madroxi in general tend to abhor contact with other Madroxi. Around the age of 17, most Madroxi experience "the Oneness" a sensation akin to that of the Valin experienced by irda; in this case, the Madroxi begins to detest the presence of other Madroxi, prefferring only the company of its duplicates.

Fan Ratings

Oops! You don't have the site cookie set. Please wait a minute and try again or click the help icon for more information.
. Tell us what you think! 

This item has been published here with permission from the author(s) and may not be reproduced without permission. This is a fan submission and its contents are completely unofficial. Some characters, places, likenesses and other names may be copyright Wizards of the Coast.