The Dragonlance Nexus

Printed From:

Goblin Races and Worship of the Gods

D&D 3e (3.0/3.5) Rules

by Trampas Whiteman

While there are several goblin races (goblins, hobgoblins, bugbears, and so forth), their views on faith have mostly remained the same throughout the years. Some scholars say this is due to lack of ingenuity or motivation to create anything new.

Chief among the deities of the goblin races is Mwarg the Goblin Mother (Takhisis). Mwarg is a plump hobgoblin that stands above all other goblins. Mwarg is cunning and conniving, and encourages her followers to join in the wars against the cursed elves and humanity.

Anthrax Goatlord (Morgion) is a creature that only vaguely resembles a goblin. Covered in warts with maggots crawling out of empty eye sockets and his nose, the Goatlord is the most horrifying visage of any goblin deity. He wears the skin of a dead goat as a cloak, and red glowing dots shine from the otherwise empty eye sockets.

Chemosh is known to the goblin races as Orkrust, an undead goblin whose head has lost all flesh while the rest of him rots away. Orkrust wears a helm with goats horns on either side. Orkrust won the helm from Anthrax Goatlord, a trophy from an ancient game of bones.

Usk-Do (Hiddukel) is the goblin god of greed. He teaches goblins to do what it takes to get what they want, whether it be stealing, stabbing someone in the back, or worse. Usk-Do has had many goblin converts since the War of Souls.

Fan Ratings

Oops! You don't have the site cookie set. Please wait a minute and try again or click the help icon for more information.
. Tell us what you think! 

This item has been published here with permission from the author(s) and may not be reproduced without permission. This is a fan submission and its contents are completely unofficial. Some characters, places, likenesses and other names may be copyright Wizards of the Coast.