The Dragonlance Nexus

Printed From:

Dragon Slayer

D&D 3e (3.0/3.5) Rules

by Tauren Kai-Jere

Hit Die: d10.


To qualify to become a dragon slayer, a character must fulfill the following criteria.

Base Attack Bonus: +12
Base Save Bonuses: Fort +8, Will +4
Skills: Intimidate 8 ranks, Knowledge (arcana) 8 ranks
Feats: Endurance, Improved Resist Dragonfear
Special: The character must have singlehandedly slain a true dragon of at least young adult status.

Class Skills

The dragon slayer's class skills (and the key ability for each skill) are Appraise (Int), Climb (Str), Handle Animal (Cha), Intimidate (Cha), Jump (Str), Knowledge (arcana) (Int), Profession (Wis), Ride (Dex), Survival (Wis), and Swim (Str).

Skill Points at Each Level: 2 + Int modifier.

Class Features

All of the following are class features of the dragon slayer.

Weapon and Armor Proficiencies: Dragon slayers do not gain any additional weapon or armor proficiencies.

Draconic Enemy (Ex): Beginning at 1st level, the dragon slayer chooses a species of true dragon (those dragons listed in their descriptions as having age category progressions) to specialize against. At each appropriate level, the character can also increase the bonus against any one draconic enemy (including the one just selected, if so desired) by 2.

The dragon slayer gains a +2 bonus on Bluff, Listen, Sense Motive, Spot, and Survival checks when using these skills against dragons of this type. Likewise, he gets a +2 bonus on weapon damage rolls against such creatures. This ability stacks with the ranger's Favored Enemy ability.

Resist Draconic Magic (Su): Beginning at 1st level, the dragon slayer begins developing a magical resistance to a dragon's spell-like abilities. This bonus also applies to all saving throws made by the character to resist the effects of spell-like breath attacks such as slow and repulsion.

Resist Breath Weapon (Ex): Beginning at 2nd level, the dragon slayer begins developing a natural tolerance to the devastating effects typical of a dragon's breath attack. The character gains energy resistance 5 to acid, cold, electricity, or fire at each level.

Fear Immunity (Su): Beginning at 4th level, the dragon slayer is immune to fear (magical or otherwise).

Exploit Weakness: At 5th level, a dragon slayer has battled enough draconic creatures that he has instinctively learned how to find the weak spot in an individual dragon's armor. Once per day, the dragon slayer can make a single attack action with a melee or missile weapon that negates the dragon's natural armor bonus.

Dragon Slayer
Level Base Attack Bonus Fort Save Ref Save Will Save Special
1st +1 +1 +0 +1 Draconic enemy, resist draconic magic +1
2nd +2 +2 +0 +2 Resist breath weapon
3rd +3 +2 +1 +2 Draconic enemy, resist draconic magic +2
4th +4 +3 +1 +3 Resist breath weapon, fear immunity
5th +5 +3 +1 +3 Draconic enemy, resist draconic magic +3, exploit weakness

Fan Ratings

Oops! You don't have the site cookie set. Please wait a minute and try again or click the help icon for more information.
. Tell us what you think! 

This item has been published here with permission from the author(s) and may not be reproduced without permission. This is a fan submission and its contents are completely unofficial. Some characters, places, likenesses and other names may be copyright Wizards of the Coast.